Trade and Invest British Columbia


Asia Pacific Trade Council

The Asia Pacific Council was officially launched on September 22, 2005 to advise the Government on how to increase investment and trade with the Asia Pacific Region. The Asia Pacific Trade Council completed its mandate in June 2007.

Mission statement

The Mission of the Asia Pacific Trade Council was to make recommendations to the Premier on opportunities to leverage the Province’s unique gateway location - its ports and transportation infrastructure, multi-cultural society and natural links with the Asia Pacific - in order to maximize commerce to the benefit of all British Columbians and Canadians.

Council structure

The Asia Pacific Trade Council consisted of an appointed Chair, two Vice-Chairs, and 8 members appointed by the Premier at the recommendation of the Chair and two Vice-Chairs.

The Asia Pacific Trade Council was supported by a Secretariat, which was staffed by the Ministry of Economic Development. The Council also received support from the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada under a grant from the Province.

Council members

 Arthur Hara, O.C LLD (Chair)

 Carol Anne Lee (Vice-Chair)

 Arvinder S. Bubber (Vice-Chair)

 Charles Y. Kim

 Brandt Louie

 Eva Lee Kwok

 Pitman B. Potter

 Andrew E. Saxton Jr.

 Norman Stark

 J.A. (Jim) Shepherd

 Grace Wong

Ex-Officio members

 Hon. Colin Hansen

 Richard T. Lee


Bookmark and Share

Asia Pacific Business Centre

Robson Square, Suite 288-800 Hornby St.
Vancouver BC
V6Z 2C5

Tel: 1-604-660-9727
Toll free: 1-888-880-ASIA (2742)
Email Us

* Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
First Name *Last Name *
Email (eg. *
Confirm Email *
Company Name *Phone number *

Please tell us how we can help you *